WPC Pakistan

Interesting Facts

Did you know these facts about women in parliament?

  1. The First Constituent Assembly had only 2 women members in a House of 66, namely Begum Shaista Ikram  Ullah and Begum Jahanara Shahnawaz.
  2. Second Constituent Assembly of 80 Members had NO women representation.
  3. The First Constitution of Pakistan, as passed in 1956, provided for “the Principle of Female Suffrage and Women’s Reserved Seats” — A dual voting right, under which the women were not only eligible to vote for a general seat but also  to vote for the reserved seats reserved, exclusively for women.
  4. Mrs. Jehanzeb Ali Jenifer Mosa Qazi was the first Pakistani National of foreign origin to become the Member of the National Assembly in 1972 on the ticket of National Awami Party.
  5. Dr. Mrs. Ashraf Khatoon Abbassi was the first woman to become the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly in 1972.
  6. The Constitution Committee, which drafted the historic 1973 Constitution, had three women Members, namely: Nasim Jahan, Mrs Jennifer Qazi and Begum Ashraf Abassi.
  7. Ms. Nargis Naeem was the first woman to be appointed as Parliamentary Secretary in the National Assembly of 1972-1977.
  8. Samia Usman was elected to the Senate in 1974 to become the first woman Senator.
  9. In 1974, Begum Rana Liaqat Ali Khan was appointed as Governor of the Province of Sindh. She remains the only woman till date to be appointed as Governor of any province in Pakistan.
  10. Begum Naseem Wali Khan was the first woman to be elected from a General Seat in any National Election. She won from two constituencies of N.W.F.P. in the 1977 elections. She remains the only woman till date to get elected from any general seat of N.W.F.P. Begum Naseem, however, did not take oath of her seat and never served as a Member of the National Assembly.
  11. Begum Abida Hussian is the first woman elected from a General Constituency, who also took oath of her seat and served as Member National Assembly from 1985 to 1988.
  12. Mr. Mohammad Khan Jonejo was the first Prime Minster (1985-1988) to have women Ministers in his Cabinet. Consequently, Begum Kulsoom Saifullah and Begum Afsar Raza Qazalbash served as full Ministers while Begum Rehana Aleem Mashhadi and Dr. Noor Jehan Panezai were made Ministers of State.
  13. The only woman of Pakistan to have made world history remains Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto. She was elected as World’s youngest Prime Minister at the age of 35 and remains the first woman in the Muslim World to be elected to this august office. She also remains the only woman to become Pakistan’s Prime Minister twice.
  14. Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto’s first cabinet remains the only Cabinet in the country’s history to have the highest number of women ministers. Her Cabinet of 45 Ministers had 5 women members.
  15. Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto also holds the distinct record of receiving the highest percentage of the polled votes in any general elections of the national history. She received 98.48% votes in the 1990 General Elections.
  16. Pakistan hosted the first Muslim Women Parliamentarians’ Conference in 1995.
  17. Ms.Zubaida Jalal is the only woman who has ever won a National Assembly seat from a general constituency from the remote province of Baluchistan.
  18. The Senate, elected after 2002 General Elections, was the first Upper House to have Women Members on Reserved Seats.
  19. History was again created in 2008, when as a result of February 18 General Elections, Dr. Fehmida Mirza became the first woman in Pakistan’s history to be elected as the Speaker of the National Assembly. She’s also the first woman Speaker in the Muslim World.
  20. Women’s Parliamentary Caucus, a bipartisan and across the board group of all women parliamentarians, was established for the first time in the parliamentary history of Pakistan on November 21, 2008.

Know Your MP

Find out who represents you in the National Assembly and Senate.

Patron's Activities

Records of the Patron's latest engagements and events.

Did you know?

Interesting facts about the caucus and women in parliament.