WPC Pakistan

NA Speaker Dr. Fehmida Mirza, The First Woman Speaker to Chair 16th Speakers’ Conference in Lahore on 2 – 3 February, 2010

NA Speaker Dr. Fehmida Mirza, The First Woman Speaker to Chair 16th Speakers’ Conference in Lahore on 2 – 3 February, 2010

Dr. Fehmida Mirza, Speaker National Assembly will chair the 16th Speakers’ Conference on 2nd and 3rd March, 2010 at Lahore. The Chairman & Deputy Chairman Senate, Speakers & Deputy Speakers of Provincial Assemblies of Punjab, NWFP, Balochistan, Sindh and Speakers & Deputy Speakers of AJ&K and Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assemblies will attend the two days’ Speakers’ moot. The 16th Speakers’ Conference has a special significance since it is being chaired by Dr. Fehmida Mirza, who is the first Woman Speaker in the parliamentary history of the country.

The Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly have been extended special invitation to attend the Conference. This would be their first participation in Speakers’ Conference after the promulgation of Gilgit-Baltistan Empowerment and Self Governance Order 2009.
The 16th Speakers’ Conference will take stock of issues related to the working of legislatures. The Conference will also deliberate upon the legal issues and suggest reforms where required for improving the working of the parliament, provincial legislatures and the legislative process. The Conference would also take up the issues being confronted by the Presiding Officers for smooth conduct of the proceedings of their respective Houses.
The decision of convening 16th Speakers’ Conference was taken in the 15th Speakers’ Conference held in Quetta in 2006. The Speakers’ Conference is hosted by Senate, National Assembly and Provincial Assemblies and AJ&K Legislative Assembly turn by turn.

The Conference will be attended by Mir. Jan Muhammad Jamali, Deputy Chairman Senate, Rana Muhammad Iqbal, Speaker Punjab Assembly, Mr. Nisar Ahmad Khuro, Speaker Sindh Assembly, Mr. Kiramatullah Khan, Speaker NWFP, Mr. Muhammad Aslam Bhootani, Speaker Balochistan Assembly, Shah Ghulam Qadir, Speaker AJ&K Legislative Assembly and Mr. Wazir Baig, Speaker Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly and Deputy Speaker and Secretaries of all the Provincial Assemblies.

Know Your MP

Find out who represents you in the National Assembly and Senate.

Patron's Activities

Records of the Patron's latest engagements and events.

Did you know?

Interesting facts about the caucus and women in parliament.